Local National Merit Semifinalists Announced

By: Sharon Aron Baron

Out of the 53 Broward County Public School students that were named semifinalists in the prestigious 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program, 15 were from Coral Springs and Parkland high schools, one was home-schooled and all four public high schools in the city were represented.

These students join approximately 16,000 students nationwide as semifinalists and represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors with the highest scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which they took as juniors.

Coral Springs Mayor Skip Campbell said it was fantastic for the city and for the schools that all four public high schools in Coral Springs had National Merit Scholar Semi-Finalists this year.

“This shows that our youth are focused on learning,” he said.  “It shows that the kids have some vision as to where they want to go with their lives.”

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to obtain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million offered next spring.

Local students named 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists

Jake R. Shipe – Coral Springs High School

Vayun Alapat – MSD

Simon A. Hoo – MSD

Zachary Huang – MSD

Jonathan R. Hutton – MSD

Aeva C. Jazic – MSD

Nikhita Nookala – MSD

Carmen M. Schentrup – MSD

Brian P. Tobin – MSD

Celya O. Walker – MSD

Devon Wiesenfeld – MSD

Chelsey Gerena – Taravella

Destiny R. Rochester – Taravella

Margaret Anne Pierce – Home-schooled

Coral Glades High School

Yael Kamio – no photo at press time

All Broward County Public School students named 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists are:

Atlantic Technical High School

Eric A. Engelhart

Cooper City High School

Hugh W. Dennin

Joie L. Meyer

Matthew N. Plonskier

Cypress Bay High School

William M. Braga

Andrew C. Braxton

Ryan F. Bush

Isabella Chiurillo

Sydnie S. Cohen

Hannah Kang

Andrew Kennedy

Lance E. Kotler

Tyler Kotler

Joseph Li

Richard T. Liu

Dylan S. Lyon

Christian A. Pichardo

Hannah Rothbard

Caleb Wong

Zachary J. Wurtenberger

Zonshen Yu

Everglades High School

Jaeson P. Alcoriza

Payton Restrepo

Rocky H. Shiu

Flanagan, Charles W. High School

Jeremy M. Gilick

Fort Lauderdale High School

Michael J. Fero

Jayanne Forrest

McFatter, William T. High School

Andre Gomez

Miramar High School

Brian A. Williams

Pompano Beach High School

Vikasni Mohan

South Plantation High School

Ashleigh D. Plasencia

West Broward High School

Alyssa F. Cavazos

Fabiana A. Corsi

Robert Cuba

Nina E. Fernandez

Tyler Metzger

Joshua R. Vogel

Western High School

Sydney H. Leiter

Agustina Vincent de Urquiza

For more information about the National Merit Scholarship Program, visit nationalmerit.org.