Jets Hockey Team Crowned Squirt Division Champions


Coach Randy Rodriguez on the left and Coach Freddy Case on right. Not pictured Coach Mike Rainisch.

By: Contributor Adam Torregrossa

The Panther Ice Den crowned their newest squirt division champions: the Jets 10 and under team.

Last Sunday in Coral Springs, the Jets beat the Stars in a thrilling overtime victory.  The game was tied 2-2 going into the third when the tie was broken by the Jets JP Torregrossa with 45 seconds left to play.  The Stars would not be denied, and came back to tie the game on a goal by Stars Harry Rubin with five seconds left in regulation. 

With both teams tied at three goals apiece, overtime was needed to decide the championship.  The Jets won a face off in their zone and a pass from Jacob Tannenbaum to JP Torregrossa for the top shelf goal which sealed the victory for the Jets. 

It was a fantastic season for the Jets who went 13-1-1 in the regular season and were the number one seed in the playoffs.  

“This was the most talented team I have ever coached,” said Coach Randy Rodriguez.  “Their teamwork and dedication made me very proud.” 

The end of year award for most improved player went to goalie Jackson Rodriguez.  The boys are looking forward to celebrating their championship at a pool party.

Jets Roster

Jackson Rodriguez
Chris Glennon-Downs
JP Torregrossa
Jonah Rainisch
Jacob Tannenbaum
Nicholas Dunne
Dylan Baer
Mickey Case
Robert Babin
Colin Considine
MIchael Pugliese

Neuro Wellness
RE/MAX InterAction Realty