City of Coral Springs Awards 2022 Lynne Johnson Award Recipients

Mr Impact

Watch to see the 2022 Lynne Johnson award winners honored.

By Bryan Boggiano

The city commission honored six Coral Springs volunteers with the Lynne Johnson Award for Outstanding Volunteerism at their April 20 meeting.

Coral Springs’s Customer-Involved Government Committee received 19 nominations for the annual award, which recognizes volunteers’ services, programs, and contributions.

The award is named after Lynne Johnson, a community volunteer and one of the first winners of the city’s Bridging the Gap awards in June 2009.

Magic Touch

After Johnson passed away in 2009, the award was renamed the Lynne Johnson Award.

2022 Lynne Johnson Award winners

Cheryl Cooper, Working with Youth

Cooper has been a Martin Luther King Committee member for more than 20 years.

She is also a part of the committee’s annual Art and Literacy Contest, allowing students to reflect on King’s life and legacy.

Cooper also works with teachers throughout Coral Springs schools to assist and advise them.

Pamela Woodard, Seniors Making a Difference

A city volunteer since 2019, Woodard dedicates roughly three to six hours each week to the Coral Springs Building Department.

Before volunteering for the city, Woodard has donated her time to other causes since 1978. As a result of her contributions, friends call her a “professional volunteer.”

Dr. Michael Mathesie, Working with Youth In Sports

Mathesie has coached over 28 city teams in 18 years, including T-ball, flag football, and soccer. He is a ten-year volunteer board member for Coral Springs Youth Soccer.

He is also a “Keep Coral Springs Beautiful” team captain and coordinates with high school students on cleanup projects.

Mathesie grew up in Coral Springs and attended Coral Springs High School.

Pastor Luis “Andy” Fernandez, Committed to Enhancing City Services

Fernandez is a six-year chaplain for the Coral Springs Police Department.

He contributed to starting up the new Behavioral Access Program and helped with the police’s summer youth camp and other projects.

Fernandez also renovated a home, making it handicap-accessible after a local 19-year-old was paralyzed from a boating accident.

Michelle Fox, Enhancing and Preserving the Natural Environment in Coral Springs

A Coral Springs Charter School National Honor Society officer, Fox works closely with the public works department on the Keep Coral Springs Beautiful project.

For five or six weekends throughout the year, Fox recruits and supervises student volunteer teams to clean up litter from canals, parks, and bus stops.

Joe Morera, Enhancing the Lives of Coral Springs Residents

A city volunteer since 1998, Morera has participated on multiple boards, events, and committees, including the Multicultural Advisory Committee, WorldFest, and International Dinner Dance.

Morera’s love for his community motivates him to help him whenever the city needs assistance.

City of Coral Springs Awards 2022 Lynne Johnson Award Recipients

Mayor Scott Brook, Dr. Mike Mathesie, Michele Fox, Cheryl Cooper, Pamela Woodard, Pastor Andy Fernandez, Joe Morera, and Commissioner Joy Carter {City of Coral Springs}

Send to Coral Springs #1 Award-Winning News Site Here. Don’t miss reading Margate Talk, Parkland Talk, and Tamarac Talk.

Author Profile

City of Coral Springs Awards 2022 Lynne Johnson Award Recipients

Bryan Boggiano
A University of Florida journalism graduate, Bryan is pursuing his masters in geosciences at Florida International University. He has a strong interest in weather, entertainment, and journalism.

Mr Impact
General Contractor Handyman Services
Aftermath Adjusters and Consulting
Five Element in Coral Springs
Miami Charter Bus Company