National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists Named


By: Sharon Aron Baron

Out of the 36 Broward County Public School students that were named semifinalists in the prestigious 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program, nine of them were from Coral Springs and Parkland high schools.

These students join approximately 16,000 students nationwide as semifinalists where National Merit Scholarship Corporation officials recognize high school seniors with the highest scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test who meet program requirements.

These semifinalists are now eligible to compete for one of 7,400 National Merit Scholarships totaling more than $32 million.

They are:

Coral Glades High School


Ashley N. Lupariello

Coral Springs High School


Jessica Curbelo

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School

Max Baron

Max Baron

Brandon Dubner

Brandon N. Dubner

Drew Fletcher

Drew B. Fletcher

Katherine Liu

Katherine Q. Liu

Jessica Pan

Jessica Pan

Elisabeth Rodrigues

Elisabeth Rodrigues

Joanna Zhuang

Joanna J. Zhuang

Other Broward County Public School students include:

College Academy @ Broward College
Johnathan D. Libier
Jonathon Rafilovich
Jennifer M. Schell

Charles W. Flanagan High School
Matthew Barta
Calvin Fai
Ivy Li

Cooper City High School
Hannah A. Levine
Joseph M. Torres

Miramar High School
Chitra Banarjee
Navya Baranwal
Del-Roelle C. Thorpe

Nova High School
Samuel Tao
Kendra Washington
Franklin Zhang

Cypress Bay High School
Kendra S. Blandon
Zachary Friedman
Eva S. Hale
Justin A. Iannacone
Nicolas Lopez
Pratiksha Patra
Diego F. Rivera

West Broward High School
Anthony Campins
Ari P. Heyd
Hunter J. Ramo

Deerfield Beach High School
Rachel C. Godskind
Alexandra Isaly

Western High School
Meenakkshy Manoharan

Author Profile

Sharon Aron Baron

Sharon Aron Baron
Editor of Talk Media and writer for Coral Springs Talk. CST was created in 2012 to provide News, Views, and Entertainment for the residents of Coral Springs and the rest of South Florida.

National Bus Charter
Mac & Cheese